ARCFAmerican Respiratory Care Foundation
TrusteesAwardsAward Recipients ConferencesInternationalSupportNewsContact Us

NBRC Gareth B. Gish, MS, RRT Memorial Postgraduate Education Recognition Award

The American Respiratory Care Foundation and the National Board for Respiratory Care awards up to $2,500 in memory of Gareth B. Gish, MS, RRT to a respiratory therapist pursuing postgraduate education leading to an advanced degree. The award consists of a certificate of recognition, coach airfare, one night's lodging, and registration for the AARC Congress 2018. May also include a cash award up to $2,500.

The Gareth B. Gish award was established in 1999 in memory of Mr. Gish, who was a true pioneer of the profession. Mr. Gish made enormous contributions to our understanding of the science of respiratory care and mentored literally thousands of therapists throughout his career.

  1. Completed application form.
  2. Must be a respiratory therapist who has at least a Baccalaureate degree with a 3.0 cumulative GPA or better on a 4.0 scale, or the equivalent.  If no Baccalaureate degree, then a letter of matriculation from a graduate program and an undergraduate transcript will suffice.
  3. Must provide proof of acceptance into an advanced degree program of a fully accredited school and proof applicant is a candidate for a degree and a letter from the program chair or committee chair indication applicant is a candidate for a degree.
  4. Must provide letter of recommendation from the program director or other senior faculty member and two letters of recommendation from the medical director or other physician instructor attesting to: a) approval of candidate's paper, b) candidate's worthiness for the award, and c) candidate's potential for a career in the profession of respiratory care.
  5. Must submit an essay consisting of at least 1,200 words describing how the award will assist the applicant in reaching his/her goal of an advanced degree and the candidate's statement of how achievement of this advanced degree will advance the profession of respiratory care.

As long as the minimum criteria are met, repeat awards may be considered by the ARCF Board of Trustees.

Applications now being accepted through June 1.

Past Award Recipients


Education Recognition Awards Application



Back to Awards

© 2018 American Respiratory Care Foundation