ARCFAmerican Respiratory Care Foundation
TrusteesAwardsAward Recipients ConferencesInternationalSupportNewsContact Us

Mike West, MBA, RRT  Patient Education Achievement Award

Established in 2012, this award is named for Mike West, a Registered Respiratory Therapist, who recognized the importance of educating  patients to help them manage chronic pulmonary diseases, and the profound impact such self-management has on patient respiratory quality of life. Mike West made it his quest throughout his career to ensure that patients, caregivers, and industry had the highest understanding of respiratory disease and the best solutions for treating these diseases.

An endowment has been established to recognize excellence in patient education by, American Respiratory Care Foundation’s Trustees (ARCF), with a grant from Phillips Healthcare, to recognize a Respiratory Therapist who has had a profound impact on patients as established by measurable outcomes as a result of patient education.

This award includes a plaque, coach airfare, one night's lodging, and registration for the AARC Congress 2018.

Nomination Procedure
Nominations will be invited from the AARC Board of Medical Advisors, the Board of Directors of the AARC, the Trustees of the ARCF, National Board for Respiratory Care (NBRC) and the Committee on Accreditation for Respiratory Care (CoARC).

The nominating group is responsible for submitting the following:

  1. A complete and current biographical report on their nominee (curriculum vitae). Only one nominee (who is not a past recipient of the award) is allowed from each group.
  2. A statement, including data which indicates the basis for the nomination, keeping the principle criterion of “promoting patient education” in mind. They should illustrate the nominee’s impact on patient education through novel training and education programs, adherence programs for patients, and improved outcomes of patients gained through education and feedback.
  3.  A brief personal comment on their candidate’s interests and activities outside of medicine (i.e. civic, family, hobby).

All nominations must be received by the ARCF Executive Office no later than June 1, and the award will be presented by the ARCF during the Awards Ceremony at the AARC Congress 2018.

Past Award Recipients

Back to Achievement Awards

© 2018 American Respiratory Care Foundation