ARCFAmerican Respiratory Care Foundation
TrusteesAwardsAward Recipients ConferencesInternationalSupportNewsContact Us

NBRC Gary A. Smith Educational Award for Innovation in Education

Established in 2014, this award is named for Gary A. Smith, BS, RRT(HON), FAARC, the CEO and Executive Director of the National Board for Respiratory Care (NBRC). Mr. Smith has been instrumental in the advancement of the methods for national credentialing of respiratory therapists by facilitating the creation of web-based applications for processing, testing, appointment scheduling, and examination administration software. Because of the efforts of Mr. Smith and his colleagues, the respiratory care profession is served by one of today’s most integrated test development and delivery systems in healthcare. Mr. Smith is also the editor of the book Respiratory Care—Evolution of a Profession.


This endowment has been established to recognize innovative educational methods in formal respiratory care education programs, clinical education training programs, and patient education programs that address current challenges in respiratory care education. The innovative educational method will be creative, utilize critical thinking skills, improve student outcomes, and focus on the advancement of the Respiratory Care profession.


The award for the individual submitting the nomination includes $2500, a plaque, coach airfare, one night’s lodging, and registration for AARC Congress 2018.


Nomination procedure:

Nominations may be submitted for either an individual or a respiratory therapy program faculty. The nomination package includes:

  • Brief nomination letter (Limited to 750 words)
  • Curriculum vitae for each nominee
  • Essay detailing: (Limited to 5 double-spaced pages with 10 – 12 point font)
    • Description of the motivator for the educational intervention
    • Description of the intervention
    • Expected and realized outcomes
    • Future goals and directions


Nominations will be accepted at any time; however, the deadline for receiving nominations in the ARCF office is June 1. The award will be presented at the AARC Awards Ceremony.

Past Award Recipients


Back to Achievement Awards

© 2018 American Respiratory Care Foundation